review my recipe?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

size

Reaction score
First off I would like to state as a disclaimer that there might be glaring oversights with this recipe. I wrote it based on my knowledge of recipe-creating up to this point. And thanks a ton to whoever reads this and gives their two cents.

Strawberry Wheat - Partial Mash - 5 gal
5 lbs Wheat DME
1.35 lbs Wheat Malt
1 lb Flaked Wheat
1 lb Vienna Malt
.5 lb Honey Malt
.75 oz Cascade Hops @5
WLP001 California Ale Yeast
~7.5 lbs fresh strawberries @ secondary
OG - 1.048
FG - 1.011

Any thoughts, critiques, comments, etc that you have is greatly appreciated.

And can someone tell me why BeerSmith is giving me an estimated ABV of .6%?

I've never used fresh fruit before, but I'm not sure it's wise to put fresh strawberries in the secondary. You may want to consider fruit extract or fruit puree, both of which are fully sterilized and safe to add to the secondary.

they'll be crushed, frozen, and then pasteurized before being added.

maybe "fresh" was the wrong word. :p

I think you meant hops 60, not hops @5?

I think it looks good to me. Keep in mind that you will get some fermentation from the glucose in the strawberries. You may want to leave some headspace in your secondary.

Also, which ABV are your reading on beersmith, the anticipated % based on anticipated SG & FG, or the actual % based on entered SG & FG?