New to brewing...Whats the cheapest way to make a 5 gallon batch of quality brew?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Thirdeye

Reaction score
Hi everyone. I am very new to brewing. Going to pick up my equipment tonight. First of all, the reason I am getting into brewing is purely monetary at the moment. Im sure the hobby will grow on me, and I will eventually brew for the sake of brewing itself, but now its just to save money. With that in mind, what is the best way to minimized costs per 5 gallon batch? It looks like most of the "kits" are about 30$/5 gallon batch. Does it get any cheaper if I dont buy kits and buy the ingredients in bulk seperately? Whats the cheapest way to make a 5 gallon batch of quality brew?

Thanks in advance and I apologize if there are already 10,000,000 threads on this topic. I did a search and didnt come up with anything.

Well, my experience has been that you don't really save money by brewing your own. I mean, you can buy a 30 pack of Busch for $10 or so. But, if you want good quality beer at a decent price, that is doable. I think that buying in bulk is significantly cheaper, if you have a way to store the ingredients. All-grain is also cheaper than extract, but requires more equipment. A typical extract kit is usually around $27-$30, I believe, and that should make around 50 bottles of beer.