Random Questions

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Nanik006

Reaction score
Couple of Questions for my upcoming Oaked American Ale brew ...

Using Pale 2 Row and 80L Crystal ... do they go into the mash at the same time or at separate times?

in the airlock ... water or vodka ... why? always used water before, never had a problem.

primary vs. secondary fermentor ... do i really even need 2? i've never used 2 before, but my current plan is to leave for 10 days at 68F after pitching yeast, then add the oak for 14 more days .... should i rack to a second fermentor? add the oak to the primary?

if racking to a second is recommended .. can i rack to a sanitized bucket, clean the primary and use it again?

Using Pale 2 Row and 80L Crystal ... do they go into the mash at the same time or at separate times?

in the airlock ... water or vodka ... why? always used water before, never had a problem.

primary vs. secondary fermentor ... do i really even need 2? i've never used 2 before, but my current plan is to leave for 10 days at 68F after pitching yeast, then add the oak for 14 more days .... should i rack to a second fermentor? add the oak to the primary?

if racking to a second is recommended .. can i rack to a sanitized bucket, clean the primary and use it again?

- Same time

- Water in the airlock, Vodka in the gullet.

- I'd just oak the primary and let it go long, opinions vary.

- could but what a PITA. Primary in the bucket and then rack to glass if that's what you got.

well, the current plan is to do the mash/boil/cool ... puor it to the carboy, pitch the yeast, and airlock ... wait 10 days and add the oak ... wait 2 more weeks

Same time

50/50 of both vodka keeps it sterile in case of suckback, water keeps it cheaper.