Tip - we don't like to guess.

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Orfy

For the love of beer!
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
If you want more views/answers to your thread then give it a descriptive title.
People don't always like to open a tread to see what's in it. They'll just ignore it.
Also give enough information to be able to answer the question.

I agree and like to compare it to a doctor diagnosing your problems. The more info you give us, the more we can deduce down to the solutions :mug:

p.s. - I'm still a noob

same here. I've probably been guilty of it a time or two, but try to make an effort to put as much in my titles as I can.

I've gotten to the point where, unless I'm really bored, I won't even click on the "question..." or "I'm screwed..." titles.

Evan! said:
I've gotten to the point where, unless I'm really bored, I won't even click on the "question..." or "I'm screwed..." titles.

ass.... :D

While I agree with the general sentiment, I can see a quick preview of the thread (first paragraph or so) when I scroll over the link, so it's mostly a non-issue for me. That's one thing IE 7 does well.

the_bird said:
While I agree with the general sentiment, I can see a quick preview of the thread (first paragraph or so) when I scroll over the link, so it's mostly a non-issue for me. That's one thing IE 7 does well.

that's pretty much what I do too!

Building on what Bird said about the mouse-over, I'll add to this suggestion: even if you have a nice clear title, state your question in the first sentence; THEN give all the details.

If I mouse-over the thread titles and don't see your question in the few seconds that pop-up stays open, I'm probably not going to open the thread.

So this (fictitiously quoted):