What do med students do in their spare time?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JennaMarie

Reaction score
Learn how to brew beer.
Total NOOB here. Any general tips? We just did 3 (yes 3!) brews in the last week, just following directions. I'd love to be able to just buy our own stuff and not have to do this whole boxed thing. Let me know what you guys think about the beginning steps and progressing to making our own recipes etc etc or if this is just one of those trial and error, you'll figure it out sort of things. Thanks for the tips!!

-Jenna

I like to take existing clone recipes of beers you know and start tweaking them and learning how the changes come through in the final product. Obviously you can use other methods but this way lets you start with a base of something familiar. Another good method is to brew some SMASH beers to learn the individual grains/hops, but I find those beers to be boring to my tastes.

btw - I thought med students slept in their spare time.

Look at a lot of recipes in the recipe section of the forum. Try a few to get a good idea of what works. Then try making some of your own. Definitely get some brew software and start plugging in ingredients. Also if you have any brews you like, look on their websites, they often tell you what ingredients they use. You just have to figure out the proportions.

My first brew was a kit, second was one from the recipe section, third brew was my own recipe. Now I make all my own recipes for my brews. That to me is the fun part of brewing.

There are so many variables that you have to learn, to really start making your own recipe.

Malts/Grains: There is a plethora of different flavors you can get from the malts, sweet, caramel, chocolate, earthy, creamy, coffee, bready, there are so many.