Looking for a good, quick, Holiday Recipie Extract Recipe ready by Christmas!

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

gman122889

Reaction score
I've been poking around here trying to find something to brew quick for the holidays. I would like to have it ready by Christmas or New Years. I know that's asking for a really quick turn around. I'm kind of new to this (will be my third batch) and I haven't realized just how much time goes into aging your beer perfectly so I haven't timed things well. This will change for next year. I'm going to brew my spring IPA in January so I won't run into this problem again...anyways...

I'm looking for something spiced. I kind of had a gingerbready tasting something in mind. I found a recipe on the 12 Beers of Christmas thread but that one seemed really dark but mild when I put it into BeerSmith.

I'd like to have a stronger brown ale as a base (kind of like Dogfish Indian Brown Ale but quite not as hoppy but not mild) and then add the ginger bread spices to have a subtle gingerbread aftertaste to it. That's kind of how I envision it...any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

Also, if you don't think I can do something like this in the amount of time I have let me know. Suggestions for something holidayish that I can do would be awesome. Like I said...newbie over here just wanting to make awesome beer!

Cheers! :mug:

I'd do a lighter stout recipe with a little spice(allspice, cinnamon, clove, paradise seed, citrus peel) in it. My christmas beer every year has the same flavors. You could do it with a brown just as easy. As long as you kept it in the 6% range you should be ok by christmas assuming you did it tomorrow....