Orfy's bud thread made me think.....

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

c.n.budz

Reaction score
Okay, you've gotta figure that to get the job of Brew Master at AB or one of the other big commercial breweries you need a pretty impressive brewing resume(even if it is from other commercial breweries). If you've spent that much time around/making beer you most likely appreciate good beer. So, you'd think that a skilled brewer who appreciates, and is able to make, good beer would feel guilty about selling his/her soul to the devil. And, I know that if I didn't feel good about what I did for a living I wouldn't be able to go to work everyday.

Don't get me wrong, while I vastly prefer a nice flavorful beer, sometimes a near freezing bud or PBR hits the spot(I'm thinking August + Volleyball + Bikini Chicks <> Stout and/or Porter)

So, here's the question..... Do you think these brewers realize/care that they're making an inferior product(and securing their place in hell), or do they get paid so much that they say, "I make enough money, I don't have to buy my own product" ?

Sorry for the rant, car's in the shop and I'm working from home tomorrow so I've had a few...:drunk:

I'd debate if they do have brewers working for them

We know it is marketing driven. So I think they will have a bunch of marketers telling Technicians what they want. They'll go off and do some small scale batches for the marketers to test taste on punters. The Techies will adjust then put into automated production.

They'll have Marketers, Technician, analysts and production engineers.

No room for brewers