New all-grain system recommendations

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

appleton11

Reaction score
Hi all,
i've been a 5-gal extract brewer for the past year and a half, and I'm ready to move to an all-grain setup.
I'd like to do an electric setup so I can brew in my basement (and thru the long cold MN winters).
I have a bad back so I'm thinking I need to do a horizontal system.
I'm thinking a recirculating mash system.
any recommendations on a system I could copy (build plans?)?. I'm an engineer so I'm pretty handy and plan to build the system myself (unless a used system is available at the right price!). A base system design would be best - something I could add features to in the future.
thanks much for the help. cheers! Randall

Explore the site for various brew sculpture builds. I think you'll find a lot of useful stuff in the DIY areas and in the articles section on builds that people have done. A horizontal build is fine but it will require a pump to move the liquids from one tank to the other. Your desire to go all electric has some limitations but people have done wonders adapting water heater heating elements to their builds. If you want to go all out, research some e-herms builds. :)

Explore the site for various brew sculpture builds. I think you'll find a lot of useful stuff in the DIY areas and in the articles section on builds that people have done. A horizontal build is fine but it will require a pump to move the liquids from one tank to the other. Your desire to go all electric has some limitations but people have done wonders adapting water heater heating elements to their builds. If you want to go all out, research some e-herms builds. :)