Mash recipes and water calculations

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Patirck

Reaction score
I am somewhat new to brewing and have made about 5 all grain batches so far. I use a 10 gallon igloo cooler MLT and recently bought a 11.5 gallon keggle. I make 5 gallon batches. I have had a somewhat hit and miss experience with all grain. My efficiencies have ranged from 50% to 88% but most have been in the high 60s to mid 70s.

My last batch was the first time I used my new keggle (not that it should matter much) and I ended up without enough wort. My preboil volume was off by about 1.25 gallons (5 gallons instead of 6.25).

I was hoping to get some insight on two things - how do I calculate much water to use and what guidelines are there for mash temps and times when you are creating your own recipe or using an existing ingredient list?

How much water do I need to end up with 5.0 - 5.5 gallons of chilled wort in the fermenter? My last batch was 8.25 pounds of grist. So I figured:

5.0 gallons (what I want to end up with)
1.25 gallons boil off
1 gallon for grain absorbtion
.5 gallon left over in the MLT and keggle (what won't drain)

This adds up to 7.75 gallons which I rounded to 8. I was creating my recipe so I decided to mash at 152* for 60 min. I started with 5 gallons and figured I would sparge with 3. Somehow I ended up with only 5 gallons of wort preboil. Did I miss something? If this happens in the future, should I quickly heat up another gallon or two of water and do a second sparge?