Partial mash question

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Metsbrew

Reaction score
I am fairly new to brewing. I wanted to make an oatmeal stout and have been reading the oats needed to be mashed. I thought this would be a good opportunity to try a partial mash. My question is can I just steep the grains longer to be considered a pm? I don't want to buy anymore equipment for a partial because I am going to eventually go to all grain.

You don't need any additional equipment to do a partial mash other than probably a larger grain sack.

But there's a difference between steeping and mashing, so if you've used steeping grains in the past, mashing is similar in process, but not done for the same reasons. When you steep specialty grains you usually do them about 30 minutes at 170. Mashing is done at lower temps (usually 150-155) and often for longer periods of time.

So keep that in mind. You don't want to just do what you've been doing with specialty grains and crank up your grain to 170 and let it sit for an hour.

Check this out for a detailed description and lots of great pictures: https://www.homebrewtalk.com/f39/easy-partial-mash-brewing-pics-75231/

EDIT: Oops, someone already beat me with the link.

Not quite.

A mash isnt' just a time thing, it's also temperature and ingredients. You need to make sure you have some base malt to provide the enzymes for conversion and enough of them to convert themselves and the specialty malts both.

You'll need to use the proper volume of water since you don't want things too thick so there's not enough water to circulate the enzymes through the mash or too thin so the enzymes are diluted too much to be of use.