NB Tongue Splitter - Opinions? And a question

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

StunnedMonkey

Reaction score
So for my second brew attempt, I'm thinking of trying the Northern Brewer Toungue Splitter all-grain kit, rather than winging it. Has anyone brewed this? Opinions?

Since I'm a newbie, I have a question about the ingredients. The recipe includes 0.5 lbs. Dingemans Caramel Pils, and 0.5 lbs. Simpsons Caramalt. Neither of these shows up specifically in Beersmith. I assume that the Dingemans Caramel Pils is simply what Beersmith calls Cara-Pils/Dextrine, but is the Simpsons Caramalt simply Caramel/Crystal Malt? The NB site shows that its Simpsons Caramalt is 30-37L. So if I use 30L Crystal Malt in Beersmith, would that be accurate for NB's Simpsons Caramalt?

I am actually brewing this kit right now. Its in secondary at the moment and I plan on leaving it there for about 12 days or so.

The fermentation was wierd, im not an expert by any means but the air lock only moved for about a day and a half. The OG was about 1.05 and the Final was about 1.019 so it might be a bit sweet.

I will post an update once I have sampled!

I will post an update once I have sampled!

Yes, please do.