How do breweries get "signature" tastes?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

barkscruff

Reaction score
Let me preface by saying I am a noob. I was wondering at what point a homebrewer develops his / her signature characteristics? Meaning that signature tastes that all of the beers most breweries put out share. For instance most Sam Adams even though different styles, share some common tastes. Same goes for (in my opinion) Saranac, Dogfish, Founders, Six Point. All of their beers share some common characteristics, and I wonder how this happens (intentional / unintentional). Is it some "secret" ingredients they add or something the do different in the process?

Thanks!

Water. Every brewery will have their own distinct water supply, which causes different flavors in the beer. Also, a lot of breweries use the same yeast for most of their basic beers.

Many breweries have a proprietary house yeast as well.