Midwest Beer of the month club

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Elfmaze

Reaction score
I was thinking of doing the Midwest homebrew supply beer of the month deal. Mainly to expand my taste palate as i am new to this. I figure i will try there lager and ale kit.

Anyone else getting monthly kits from them?

No, but I have concidered it. My biggest concern when i looked at it, was the shipping.... do you have to pay shipping each month? I know Midwest encourages you to buy more than 1 kit, to save on the shipping costs.

Mainly to expand my taste palate as i am new to this.

what do you plan to do if you make something and find out you really didn't like that style? You now have 2 cases of it to get rid of? (not that beer is too hard to get rid of)

If you're wanting to expand your palate, why not go buy a few bottles of different types at the store? (For example my local Kroger allows me to build-my-own 6 pack with different IPAs, Stouts, etc.). Then when you find those that interest you, find a recipe in that style and brew it. If you come across ones you don't, you are only out 12oz's...not 2 cases.

Just my 2c.

what do you plan to do if you make something and find out you really didn't like that style? You now have 2 cases of it to get rid of? (not that beer is too hard to get rid of)

Just my 2c.

I tend to agree, I dislike some styles, such as Pale Ale, and wouldn't want to brew one because the BotM sent me one. for $30 i can make most of the beers i like from my LHBS.