Difference in Dry Malt Extract and Liquid Extract

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ohill1981

Reaction score
I am reading a recipe book right now for an easy german style wheat beer. The recipe calls for 6 2/3 lbs of wheat malt extract, but it did not specify whether it should be liquid or dried malt extract. Am i correct in assuming this is just a preference in taste? or is there a good reason to choose liquid over DME or DME over liquid extracts..?

Please take this answer with a grain of salt ( I am also new to this brew thing ) But I believe that they LME and DME are exactly the same (except LME is 80% Malt extract and about 20% water).

or something like that...

I am reading a recipe book right now for an easy german style wheat beer. The recipe calls for 6 2/3 lbs of wheat malt extract, but it did not specify whether it should be liquid or dried malt extract. Am i correct in assuming this is just a preference in taste? or is there a good reason to choose liquid over DME or DME over liquid extracts..?

There is a difference in the specific gravity potential: DME is more concentrated than LME, so you can convert to equivalent quantities:
from LME to DME = weight of LME * 0.89
from DME to LME = weight of DME * 1.10

Also, some people mention problems with "extract twang" due to LME that is no longer fresh. As the LME ages, it can produce an off-flavor in the beer. So, some people only use DME to avoid this problem.