Indoor Brewing???

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JBrady

Reaction score
Hello, im new to brewing, doing my primary research and have a question. Is it stupid to try to be a brewer if you live in an apartment. There is only 4 apartments, its not like im on a 20 story condo, but i just wanted to see if there are any other full indoor brewers out there? I have a complete extra bedroom to dedicate to brewing and a stove in the kitchen, but is it a good idea??? thanks for info

i brew on my stove top. but i wouldn't use the portable propane burner indoors if that is what you are thinking. my batches are small enough to get a vigorous boil going at stovetop temps. if you are doing larger ones, maybe outdoors is best.

I bought a turkey fryer to brew outside, but I haven't used it. I LIKE brewing on my stovetop and mashing in my kitchen. I can do it because I have a big kitchen and use my island and chairs for my "sculpture" and my gas range can boil 7 gallons of wort. I think most people would not have it so easy indoors- but you can do it. If you have a stove that can bring 7 gallons of wort to a boil, you can brew full batches indoors. If your stove isn't as powerful, you can do extract batches with steeping grains for 5 gallon batches, or do smaller AG batches. Where there's a will, there's a way! :mug:

i want to do a few extract brews before learning and trying all grain, but all grain is my goal of course. so 5 gallon extracts is fine for the stove, and when i go all grain i need to go propane outside? I could easily buy a propane burner and do my boil outside of the apartment if needed but i would like to stay indoors just due to the old holy rollers that probaly would not approve lol.