Vanilla extract addition

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

zaprozdower

Reaction score
My next beer venture is a vanilla cream ale. The kit I'm buying is just a plain cream ale so I'm sprucing it up myself. Anyone have a good idea about the amount and time of addition for vanilla extract to get the best flavor?

And as a side note I have some left over whole magnum hops...what styles would magnum fit best in?

i dont know that it is good or bad, but this was a HUUUUGE hit on the forums a while back - look how many pages are in the thread.

It is a known Vanilla Creme Ale success.
Also i could be wrong, but even the recipe i gave is not a true creme but they use lactose to get that mouthfeel... i dont see how the above is very creamy but i am a rookie :)

I would suggest using vanilla beans over vanilla extract. The flavor comes out way better that way. You just split and scrape a couple of beans and add them to secondary.

Stupid question, but how much of a difference (in taste) is there between artificial vanilla extract and pure vanilla extract?

I added two 1 oz bottles of vanilla extract to the bottling bucket for about 2.5 gallons of porter. Everybody who has tasted it really likes it.

So, you can add a bottle to your beer, carefully stir it in a bit (no splashing or sloshing!), and taste a little. If not enough flavor, add another bottle. Rinse, repeat.

I make a vanilla coffee stout in which I use 4 oz. in the secondary. It is very subtle in the finished product, but the coffee flavor and dark malts keep it in the background. I'd start with 2 oz. with a lighter beer or it may over-power. You can always add a small amount to your glass when you drink it if you want it to be more noticeable.