wine from juice

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Donna

Reaction score
I usually make my wines from box kits. I am fairly new at this (about a year). I recently purchased a 6 gallon bucket of wine juice. The place I bought it from said it was pure grape juice and all I needed to do let it ferment for about 3-4 months and it would be all set to drink/bottle. Has anyone done this...I am so used to opening packets and adding, degassing, etc that this seems too easy.

Hi Donna
Welcome to HBT!
We have some wine experts that will be along soon I'm sure.
Unfortunately, lots of bad information is given out buy local home brew stores and I think you got some. It just doesn't sound right. I have not made any kits but why would fermenting a bucket of juice be any different in method?

Hi Donna.
I'll chime in here (I don't do that much :rolleyes: ) and say Welcome to HBT!
As for your wine issue....Hang Loose. Yooper or Summersolstice (or LOTS of others) will be along soon.

Hi Donna - which variety did you get? It this sterile must? Was it frozen or kept stable in some other way (in other words, how was it kept from spontaneous fermentation?) Can you give us a little more information and perhaps some of us can help you get started.