Mulled Wine Idea

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JNJC

Reaction score
I posted this on the recipes forum and got no takers so I'll give it a try here....

I am new to home brew so forgive me if the following seems like a daft idea....

I was making some mulled wine the other evening (I usually just bake an orange studded with cloves, add a liter of wine 1/2 liter of water, a dash of sherry or brandy a cinnamon stick and some mixed spices). I got to thinking would it be possible to "brew" a batch of mulled wine ?

I am thinking of say combining along the lines of the following in a fermenter:

5L store bought wine
3L Water
1Kg dextrose (to sort of 'fortify' the wine)
Oranges
Sultanas
cinnamon sticks
Spices

Maybe Yeast and Yeast Nutrient (not sure if there would still be yeast active in the store bought wine ?)
Maybe one of those little bottle of essence (like a brandy essence) ?

Leave it for a couple of weeks and then bottle or rack to secondary to clear.

I would be aiming for an end result of a bottle of mulled wine that you just heat up and you are ready to go ?

Does this sound feasible or am I off my rocker ?
Would the wine turn to vinegar in the fermenter ?
Would I need to add yeast or just yeast nutrient ?

TIA,
JC

Yes you are off your rocker (most of us are).....But give it a try and let us know how it works.
Sometimes ideas like this are a bit hard to work through in your head. Mostly, when you post a recipe...unless you are asking for us to make changes....I'ts up to you to give it a whirl and report back.

Also...you might get a better reception if a moderator (Yooper???) moves this to the wine forum.

I was sort of thinking of this as a gift idea. A bottle of ready to heat mulled wine....

My main concerns are: