Favorite Extract Kit/Recipe

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dmbRedGetta

Reaction score
Hey everybody, I'm still pretty new to homebrewing but I really want to step it up this year. So far, I've made 5 Brewer's Best kits (over the last couple of years). They have all turned out okay, and they're getting better as I'm learning more, but there's still something about the flavor that isn't quite as good as store-bought.

Has anyone else had a similar experience with their kits? Or is it more a factor of extract kits in general?

Either way, I'm looking for another good kit or recipe to try. Please post what has worked well for you! (Preferably an IPA or American Ale)

Cream ale from Northern Brewer. Make your batch, leave in the primary for 5-6 days, transfer to secondary, and add 2 lbs of FROZEN blackberries. Let that secondary for at least two weeks.... make sure to check final gravity before removing from secondary.

Makes a GREAT blackberry cream ale. Also, might try wyyeast or white labs yeast.

I have did many kits from Midwest Supplies and have never been dissapointed. The support you recieve is also really good. I personally like there Altbier, I know you said you were looking for an IPA type though.

The first thing to remember is that commercial breweries refined their recipe many, many times to get what you so thoroughly enjoy.

In my short experience, I find creating a complex malty beer to be difficult. I am not sure if that is because all grain brewers have more tools and options to create that complexity.

I have been very, very happy with beers that get their flavor mainly from the yeast. E.g. hefeweizen, belgian ales. My friends say those are as good as anything they have bought.