Do I need a diacetyl rest with WLP 810?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JMO

Reaction score
I just started fermenting a cream ale yesterday. I'm starting it at 62 for 14 days, then will drop it to 45 for 20 days. Would you recommend a diacetyl rest before I drop it down to 45? I've never used WLP 810 before so I don't know how it will be. I'd like to do one, just wanted to here what you've done.

Either a diacetyl rest, or alot longer in the primary before the temperature drop. I don't think WLP810 produces a ton of diacetyl, but I tasted it in my first California common, even though I left it on the yeast cake nearly a month.

My view on diacetyl rests is that they can't hurt your beer...and if indeed you do have some diacetyl present the rest will help it..so it's one of those, win-win situations by simply doing it.

Thanks guys. I will definitely give it a try. So basically, I'll take it out of my fermentation fridge and let it come up to room temp for about 24hrs, rack it,...then put it back in the fridge and drop it down?

Thanks guys. I will definitely give it a try. So basically, I'll take it out of my fermentation fridge and let it come up to room temp for about 24hrs, rack it,...then put it back in the fridge and drop it down?

I usually do a minimum of 72 hours....sometimes a week if I forget...I figure it takes at least a day to get up to room temp.

This is a great thread on it if you haven't read it. https://www.homebrewtalk.com/f13/preventing-diacetyl-hold-butter-please-70438/