Freezer or mini fridge?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kenpotf

Reaction score
All,

This is my first time posting. I've searched the forums, but this is all new to me, so I'm not really sure what to search for. I'm going to start my first batch in the middle of June. I've read many articles that states you need to keep your fermentation bucket/carboy in the range of 65 - 75 deg (or thereabouts). I live in Texas and summer is about to hit, so I need to be able to keep this stuff cool.

I went to Lowe's and Home Depot today to look at their mini-fridges and freezers. They have the PERFECT freezer at both places that's 5.0 cubic ft. and would fit my primary great and I'm pretty sure a carboy. (Currently I'm only going to be doing a primary bucket fermenter, and not carboy, until I get some experience.) The only problem that I see is that I can't find temperature ranges for these freezers, and I'm not sure if I can get 70 degree temparatures out of a freezer. The only other thing that I'm seeing is that I might have to got with a small full-size refrigerator, but I really wasn't wanting to do that if I could avoid it. I won't be doing lagers because I'm more of an ale guy.

Can anyone help me with what to decide on? If you're using a freezer, what temperature ranges can I expect to get within range? Many of these have adjustable settings, but the only tell you "colder-warmer."

Thanks for your help!

Wakadaka is right, you're gonna need a temp controller as you'll never be able to keep it at the right temp. Here's one on eBay but shop around.

I personally went with the freezer but that's just my preference. I have the Kenmore 8.9cf and can fit two fermentings buckets in at the same time. Or, I can fit 4 corney kegs on the floor.