OOOPS !! rolling rock cloneis a ..LAGER ?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

yeasty

Reaction score
well i am a noob and have only brewed ales. i thought when i ordered the rolling rock clone it was an ale too. i noticed a nice rotten egg smell to the fermentation and took a closer look at my ingredients and palmer book. seems that rolling rock clone uses lager yeast. am i in trouble on this one ? i am not set up to lager. its sitting in my basement at 65 degrees. i might be able to stick it in a fridge but probably wont be able to get it cold enough. what to do ?

unfortunately you are going to get some off flavors from fermenting that warm. try to keep it as cold as you can for as long as you can and it might clean itself up a bit. always read the temp recommendations on your yeast, because they vary even with ales.

good luck.

Do the best you can to get and keep it cold. If you can keep it in a fridge for few weeks all the better. An ice bath is a pita option.

What's the worst that can happen really? I'll tell you. It could actually turn out tasting like real Rolling Rock. Yecchhh. ;)

Actually the worst that can happen is that it tastes like bubblegum. The only batch I ever tossed was a lager that was fermented too warm. Tasted and smelled just like Fruit Punch Bubble Yum.

What yeast did you use? It definitely sounds like a lager yeast, if you're getting sulfur smells coming out of it.