Is your brew day like a work day?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DrPhunk

Reaction score
I haven't been brewing long, just finishing my 8th extract brew. I have a partner that I started brewing with but also started brewing solo. When I brew I hit it balks out and can bottle a batch and do a new extract brew in >3 hrs. When I brew with my partner it takes twice as long because he never wants it to feel like work. When you brew do you take your time, or are you just trying to get it done?

I don't particularly rush myself, but I don't waste time and drag it out either... I just started all grain after 4 extract brews and it takes me 5-6 hours start to finish depending on how long I mash and how long I boil. Extract was half of that... Brewing has never felt like work to me. I enjoy it, but I don't want it to take forever either.

i treat it like work - in that i try to stay pretty drunk and usually spend a lot of time on the toilet.

Lol awesome. Mine used to feel like a work day and sometimes after I'd feel stressed like it was one. Then I used the BIAB and no chill techniques as documented in my ebook. Now I'm done in <3 hours and it's nice. I don't like to rush, I like to feel relaxed when I'm doing hobbies. Hobbies should be therapeutic :ban:

I am one of the many who do not like their job. I really like brewing so it is not like work. I do all grain so it takes a while. I don't really pay attention to how long it takes. I just enjoy the time.