No carbonation.

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I just popped open a few bottles of beer I brewed and the carbonation is not there in 3 out of the 4 first bottles. The fermentation went really strong in the primary the loud bubbling kept my wife and I up at night! Secondary was quiet and uneventful... So...

I believe the problem is a faulty capper. I used an antique capper and I had to really pull hard and twist to get the bench capper to let go of the freshly capped bottle. I believe this may have broken the seal on most of the bottles.

I'm relatively new at this... Do you guys think my beer can be saved? Should i add more priming sugar and recap with a new capper? Should I add more yeast and recap? Or did my beer carbonate, then go flat, making the beer ruined?

Please help.

Thanks!

I just popped open a few bottles of beer I brewed and the carbonation is not there in 3 out of the 4 first bottles. The fermentation went really strong in the primary the loud bubbling kept my wife and I up at night! Secondary was quiet and uneventful... So...

I believe the problem is a faulty capper. I used an antique capper and I had to really pull hard and twist to get the bench capper to let go of the freshly capped bottle. I believe this may have broken the seal on most of the bottles.

I'm relatively new at this... Do you guys think my beer can be saved? Should i add more priming sugar and recap with a new capper? Should I add more yeast and recap? Or did my beer carbonate, then go flat, making the beer ruined?

Please help.

Thanks!

is there yeast sediment at the bottom of the bottles?

Answer the above questions. Then try giving the caps a twist with your hand. It's usually impossible, or at least pretty hard to spin the caps.