Specific Gravity?!?!

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cmorgan

Reaction score
I just started brewing and my first batch of Irish Stout turned out good and gets better everyday! I am currently waiting on a batch of hard cider to be finished, though from what I have been reading it has a ways to go(it's only been 3 weeks).

This whole brewing thing is so cool. There is so much to know and figure out!!!! This is going to get really addicting. So here is a dumb question for starters:

I have tried using the hydrometer and I understand the basic concept behind it, but how do you use it to tell when a brew is done? Is there some magical number that the Final gravity needs to reach?

Also, when someone is making their own recipe how do they know what the OG and FG should be to make a good brew? Is this just guess work or experimentation? I think if I could understand this it would clear up alot!

Lastly, my 4 gallons of Cider started at 1.060 OG any guess on what the FG should be?

Most beer recipes list an expected final gravity. Ciders tend to finish more completely, my apfelwein finished at 0.998 or so unless you stop fermentation early.