Newby Question

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

1stTimer

Reaction score
Ok, after the airlock isnt bubbling anymore I still leave the brew in that fermenter. I've gathered that from the input I have received on here. Do I leave the airlock in the fermenter over the remaining time perirod till its ready to put in the bottling fermenter/bucket? I probably have most of those terms wrong, but Im still learning. :)

just let her sit...no reason to remove the airlock and expose the brew to outside air when it has a nice buffer of co2 keeping it fresh in there.

Leave the airlock in. It helps vent excess gas (even if you don't see it bubbling). You will know when fermentation is done, not by the airlock, but by your hydrometer readings. Once fermentation is done, leave it in the primary even longer. Yeast make byproducts and they need time to clean up their mess.

I'll let the more experienced brewers discuss more of the specifics. My info is not based on experience, but from reading advice here.

Yes, the airlock is there solely to keep outside bugs where they belong, outside of your beer. I personally like to do 2 weeks in the primary fermenter and 2 weeks in a secondary. Just FYI a bottling bucket is strictly for the use of when you're bottling. I wouldnt recommend it as a fermenter.

Just to clarify on the timeframe I use: I use that on smaller beers that dont need excessive aging. My Schwarzbier (lager) has been in a fermenter for the last monthish and will remain so for another few weeks or so.