yeast pitching temp

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mots

Reaction score
so, i'm fairly certain at this point that while in a hurry to finish cooling, i misread the temp and pitched at well above 100 degrees....has this killed my yeast (Wyeast #1084 Irish Ale Yeast) OR will it eventually ferment correctly while producing "off" flavors?? if my yeast was killed, can i just add a new yeast package??

Just a noob here myself, but from what I've always heard with (baking yeast anyways) anything much over 105 F. will scald the yeast.

I would think it would be fine to re-pitch, the first packet will just act as nutrient for the second pack.

I have pitched at 100F and ended up with some Sour Apple flavors that eventually conditioned out.

If you pitched over 120F, you are definitely screwed.

well, it's bubbling away this morning, so time will tell on the taste

my concern started when 3 hours after pitching, the sticky thermometer was still reading the top temp (78)...i assumed that it was much higher and just reading the highest...with my immersion chiller, i got down to 70 in 15 mins...in hindsight that seems pretty optimistic as my previous time was just over 30 mins...i did have way more ice on hand, but perhaps i had my thermometer too close to the copper tubing and thus getting a premature low-temp reading...anyway, yeast certainly is active and i'll find out soon what effects this all had