Grainy taste!!

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

lynwitte

Reaction score
I just started brewing in June I have 8 under my belt with 6 of those being all grain why wait i say. Well my beers are pretty good and i still cant wait to share them/drink them like i should but my question is i can taste the "grains" while drinking my beer. I dont mind it so much but just wondered if i did something wrong or just don't let them age like they should?

THanks

If you just started in June how are you drinking them already? Even if you brewed one June 1st that one MIGHT be coming ready JUST NOW using the basic 123 rule

*DANG YOU REVVY*

+1 Revvy
that graininess your tasting........is grain
relax and have a store bought brew :)

lynwitte - what does krausen taste like?

*spews water on keyboard*

Seriously though lynwitte, how long are you letting your beers ferment? Are you using a hydrometer? Leaving a beer in primary for an additional 2-4 weeks is a really good idea, it makes for great beers (except for hefe's and wits.)

What types of beers are you making?

I know i should wait a little bit but there so tasty. I did check to make sure the Hydrometer said it was finished fermenting out usually about 6-7 days and then bottled it.

wait longer and then bottle and then wait. It really make the beer that much tastier. I gaurantee that in two months you'll post this thread "I brewd a beer in june and it tasted funny. Now its frickin' awesome; unfortunately I only have two left"
Just be patient

first was Irish red, brown, "steamin ale" was first all grain, another red ale, Witte Wit, rasberry wheat, mild ale, and another brown. The witte wit Rasberry wheat and mild ale are in fermenter for 7 days now.