Heatstick HELP!!

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Brulosopher

Reaction score
Alright... I use propane to brew. I have 2 10" banjos and a 30 psi valve that will heat 10 gallons of water to 165 in about 25 minutes. But, I was bored and decided to build THIS heatstick, without paying any attention to my houses power "stuff."

*Truth* I am not an electrician, but I like to dabble in all kinds of DIY sh*t.

The build went great and the heatstick is beautiful! I submerged it in 4 gallons of water, plugged it in, and it began to work... for about 15 minutes. I've tried this 3 times now and the same thing keeps happening- as soon as the water gets to about 120F (which takes about 15 minutes from 65F), my GCFI pops and the heating ceases. I've theorized as to what the problem could be, but I'm retarded when it comes to this stuff. Anyone have any ideas? I really don't think any water is getting in, as I was incredibly anal about making sure the JB Weld was in all the nooks and crannies.

Thanks!

Hi

Most likely - there is water getting in with the electricity. The GCFI is doing what it's supposed to do and keeping you alive.

Less likely - The GCFI is also a breaker, and the hot stick plus what ever else are simply too much of a load.

Them's about the only options.

Bob

carlisle_bob said:
Hi

Most likely - there is water getting in with the electricity. The GCFI is doing what it's supposed to do and keeping you alive.

Less likely - The GCFI is also a breaker, and the hot stick plus what ever else are simply too much of a load.

Them's about the only options.

Bob