learning

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

riddlebox

Reaction score
Hello,
I am trying to learn as much as I can so I can brew my own beer, I have been brewing wine and brandy with my Uncle for a few years now, which leads me to my question. I mentioned to someone that I wanted to try to brew my own beer, so they got me a "beermachine 1000" kit, and from what I have been reading I think this thing may pretty much be useless except for making the powder mixes that they sell. When we make wine all we do is smash the berries add water, then after a week we add sugar and let it ferment for a month, and its done. I know there are alot of recipes out there where you boil the berries and such but my real question is, is there a recipe kinda like that where I dont have to boil stuff right away, so I can kinda use the kit I have and learn more about brewing before I accidentally blow up some bottles?
Thanks in advandce for any advice
p.s. please dont be too rough on me