'Brewery' names...

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Boomer

Reaction score
I'm reading in quite a few people's signature the name of a brewery. I also read that the laws state you can brew up to 100 gallons per person of age in a household in a year's time. The law named the household as a brewery.

My question is this:

Do these people have these brewery names as licensed businesses or just a name for their hobby homebrewing? Just curious since I'm quite new to all this!!

I would venture to guess that it is just the individual's name for their garage/man cave brewery. Not actual licensed breweries. Seeing as how hardly any of us actually sell our beer, it's just for fun

It's our brewery name most of us it's our home, garage, or man cave....Some have dreams of making it a real brewery......

Just part of the hobby......

No, I'm quite certain that most are the names for their home brewery as fantasy-type names.

I'm simple and went with "Collins Brewery" when I was brewing with my brother 8 or so years ago.

That's what I thought, it's great. I'll have to start thinking of what to call my little setup!

Osborn Brewing is a registered LLC in Ohio. I took the extra step. What i can write-off now is AMAZING! Pretty much if I talk about beer while spending money it's a business expense. I DO NOT sell alcohol. Yeast, malt and hops and services are all good money makers around here for me, pretty much net out annually. Maintaining a Monthly profit and loss statement has helped me take a new look at this hobby and spot several inefficiencies in my system. I was spending a TON on gas and yeast, which led to a rework on my processes.