Need ideas on maintaining ferment temps

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

oldschool

Reaction score
I brew at my shop, not at home and I need to find a way to keep my fermenters at a steady 65-70 degrees. I am new to this and before the outside temps rose too much i was able to keep my fermenter in the cellar. Now it is too warm in the cellar due to a family members deep freezer giving off heat. I have an extra fridge but they are not great at maintianing the required temperatures. Can someone give me some good ideas please?:mug:

My neighbor keeps his fermenters in a huge rubbermaid tub of water adding frozen pet bottles as needed to maintain his desired 70-ish temp. Personally I just keep mine underneath the air conditioner. my old window unit used to maintain my fermenters between 69-72. it gave out and now I have one of those 12,000 btu stand-alone a/c units that keeps my batches within +/- 1 degree of 69...

Well I live in an apartment that faces the afternoon sun, so ambient temps without an a/c are not liveable for yeast or myself. I got a 5000 btu window unit for the corner of my living room for $20 on craigslist and ran that thing 24-7 until it gave out 4 months later. when it gave out I had two fermeters going so I set out that afternoon and found my 12000 btu stand alone unit also on craigslist for $125. normally a five hundred dollar plus unit according to amazon. If your equipment is near a window in your shop, I'd say try to source a cheapish window unit from somewhere like craigslist. It works pretty well...