new to this whole thing

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bassassassin772

Reaction score
Ok please bear with me I am totally new to Brewing. Brewed my first beer last night went fairly well. I have a few questions though. when transferring from kettle to primary I noticed a scorched bottom likely from the LME. How much will this affect the taste? Also my Wort got to 63 degrees last night will this affect the fermentation? also i had a starting Gravity of 1.050 when the kit said it should be 1.046 is this bad?I am Brewing from a American Amber Ale kit.

Some other questions are what is a secondary ferminter used for? what are the different cookers? I have noticed people saying (HML?)

Thanks for the advice

It is difficult to say how much the scorched LME will affect the flavor. The Starting Gravity reading is not too far off, so that by itself won't cause a problem. The impact of having your wort temp go down to 63 degrees depends on the type of yeast that was used. It is not likely to prevent fermentation, but it could be slow to begin.

At the top of the Beginners Beer Brewing Forum are several "sticky" threads. You should find most of your questions answered there. Here is a link to the most helpful thread for new homebrewers: FAQ

Welcome to homebrewing!

63F is good for pre-fermentation wort, its gunna heat up quite a bit (3-10F) during active fermentation so I wouldnt raise it any.

dont worry about a secondary, its an outdated technique and not needed for an Amber. its basically a clearing vessel. just leave it in your primary for at least 2 weeks (3-4 is recommended) and move on to bottling.

Muddy i used the yeast from the kit it's the little pack. I will never use that stuff again after reading on here but SWAMBO bought the kit