Beer Kit Question

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Beerdude

Reaction score
Greetings,
Its my first time brewing and I have a stock pot I got from a friend that is labeled 4, 8 and 12 on it. I assume those mean quarts, so there are about 4 more quarts from the top of the pot.

I purchased a 5 gallon brewing kit, with all ingredients.
If I do not have a 20 qt pot, should I plan to measure out from the kit the proper amount of the ingredients, or should I just buy enough for the 3 gallon pot?

The other option for me would be to buy another pot or to return the kit, and get the ingredients myself.
I have a carboy that would fit 5 gallons.

Thanks

Hi Dude. Its common for brewers using an extract kit to do "partial boils", which means they only boil 2.5 -3 gallons and then top-off with enough water to get to five gallons in their fermenter. Does that make sense? Or do you need more details?

New brewer here as well, what is the disadvantage to doing a partial boil vs a full 5gal boil and topping the fermenter off with water? Seems like a good way to bring the wort back to fermenting temperature. my brew kit + beer kit should be on the way soon and I was planning on doing a partial boil

You've hit on one advantage of partial boils - the other is that most of us already have a big enough stock pot to do it in and our stoves will bring 3 gallons of water to a boil promptly, but not 5 gallons.

The disadvantages are reduced hop utilization (it extracts less of the hoppy goodness) and an increased risk of carmelizing your wort (or worse, burning it).