first batch... fermentation stall questions?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

treemind

Reaction score
Hey Everyone,

I am new to this brewing thing... just started my first batch of red ale from a kit on Saturday. Everything seemed to go along pretty well. Granted i had no idea just how long it took to get that 3 gallons to boil, but I finally made it through the long process.

To my delight after pitching my yeast and sealing it up tight, five hours later it was bubbling. The next morning it was still fermenting like crazy... bubbled once every 1.5 seconds. this lasted all day and was still working well before i went to sleep.

This morning however when i awoke and checked on my batch before work, it seemed to be stalled. no bubbles from what i could tell. It was down a few degrees to 66 F, and the day before had been set at 70 F. (cold evening might have chilled it)... So i turned on some heat and wrapped a blanked around it.

Could it have really finished it's original rapid fermentation in only 30 hours? or do i have an issue with it being stalled?

My OG reading was 1.048 (at 79 F)

I would guess it is too early to check the Gravity just yet...

Any suggestions?

It is possible that your beer finished fermenting in only 30 hours, yes. However, it's more likely that it's still going. Airlock activity means nothing.

Give it a week, then start checking your SG.

I would guess it is too early to check the Gravity just yet...

That's the only thing that'll be able to tell you if you have a stalled fermentation. I doubt that's the case - 66 deg F is quite comfortable for ale yeasts.