Trying the First Bottle of the first Batch

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

AbbeyDubbel

Reaction score
So I popped open my first bottle from the very first batch I've ever done. I started brewing it on January 16th. It spent four weeks in the primary (2 normal, 2 dry hopped) and has been in the bottles for 1.5 weeks.

I got that nice pop and fizz when I cracked it, and the haze rose from the bottle opening. I poured it gently into the glass and a .5 inch of thick white head sat nicely on top. Held up to the light, you could see bubbles vigorously detaching themselves from the bottom of the glass and shooting to the surface.

The smell was great in the bottle, but once I poured it and released all the aromas, I could tell it was a bit off. The first sip hit my tongue very nicely, but I tasted what I smelled; a bit of an off flavor (my roommate said it tasted like yeast). The carbonation was very nice, but sort of dissipated in your mouth so that when you swallowed it felt a bit flat.

My question is, is this normal for a beer after only 1.5 weeks in the bottle. My plan is to wait until the 3 week mark to crack another. Will this get rid of that off taste and smell and help the carbonation to mature? I figured at this point that it would be weakly carbonated but that the flavors would be right on. Is it bad that my beer still tastes green?

Thanks guys!