Hydrometer - When/How and Why?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BeerNoob

Reaction score
Ok so, I'm not afraid to admit it, I'm bad at making beer. I seem to find a way to screw it up every time I make it. However, this does not stop me from continuing my quest for a drinkable brew!

Unfortunately, this post is not a FAQ or even an instructional, which I would someday love to write, I really just want to know when, how and why I am supposed to use my hydrometer.

I have done a lot of reading since I started brewing and haven't found any concise explanation for it that draws everything out plainly. So please, anyone that has a web page, a thread, an explanation or some other link of why this ultra-important device is so, well... important, I would be greatly thankful.

Here's what I know:

1. I own a hydrometer which came with my brewing "kit" i bought locally.
2. The hydrometer measures the "gravity" of a liquid.
3. The beer recipes that i use often have a number like "O.G. 1.045".
4. I'm supposed to use it at certain intervals.

Other than these things, I have no idea why I'm using this hydrometer or how these readings are supposed to influence the various steps one would take in brewing beer. Perhaps the coveted hydrometer is the answer to all my problems?

HELP!

A hydrometer will help you with a couple of things. When you've got your wort all done after brewing, it will tell you that you hit your numbers. If you're brewing extract, you will usually come close. It comes down to volume at that point more than anything.