first year hops(nugget and cascade)

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mapleroots

Reaction score
This is my first year growing and my nugget and cascade plants have cones that look like they are ready to harvest. could someone with some experience please take a look at the pics and tell me what you think?

CASCADE
showphoto.php
[/url][/IMG]
NUGGET
showphoto.php
[/url][/IMG]

Nice, beautiful flowers. Several threads on here and Youtube about when they are ready, but they look too green in my inexperienced opinion. Look for some browning at the ends of the flowers, and some yellow lupulin inside, and of course smell. Also, they should be papery, not wet and springy when you squeeze them.

How about some full-size shots of the plants?

This is my first year growing and my nugget and cascade plants have cones that look like they are ready to harvest. could someone with some experience please take a look at the pics and tell me what you think?

CASCADE
showphoto.php
[/url][/IMG]
NUGGET
showphoto.php
[/url][/IMG]

sorry but if you click the image it will show a bigger pic. I'm kinda knew at posting pictures so please give me a break. but let me throw a few more up for averyone. some good practice.
Picture_0125.jpg
[/IMG]
Picture_0096.jpg
[/IMG]
Picture_00510.jpg
[/IMG]
Picture_00310.jpg
[/IMG]

Great looking garden! But its too soon to harvest. Give another week or two. I have harvested too early before and regretted it big time (all that work for a bunch of poor quality hops)

I have only done this a few times, but I know a number of other growers and have heard and seen this many times:
You want :
1)papery, dry to touch(as opposed to somewhat damp feeling),
2)springy(as opposed to squishy),
3)stem at top of each cone should snap off easily,