Cinnamon Ale

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mawa

Reaction score
Hey Guys!

I few years back (on my honeymoon actually) I went on a cruise and one of the stops was in Tallin, Estonia. In a restaurant there, I ask for a beer and the waiter tells me that they only have three beers: cinnamon, honey and herbs; all of the beers were brewed in the restaurant.

I decided to try one of each, the honey and herbs were OK but the cinnamon was delicious! I'm thinking that it was an ale because at that time I only drank BMC style beers and this definately tasted diferent, the color was light amber (maybe similar to Sam Adams Boston Lager). The cinnamon flavor wasn't overpowering but it was there!

I'm fairly new to homebrewing and since I began in the hobby i knew that at some point I had to brew a beer similar to the cinnamon ale I had on that trip. I still don't have the experience necesary to come up with a receipe and that's why I come to you for help (but i'll try anyway....how about an englisg pale ale with cinnamon sticks added to the boil with 10 min left?)!

Thanks in advance for your help!
Mawa

That sounds interesting. Being new to the hobby, you might try doctoring up an extract kit, maybe an Irish red. Just a word of caution, it's real easy to over do it when spicing beer. Good luck, let us know how it works.

:mug:

I LOVE CINAMON!!! I hope this works.

Maybe a twist with a cream ale and the cinamon sticks.
Not sure if there is cinamon extract, that would be cool.

Isn't cinnamon supposed to help presereve the flavor of the beer as well. Act as a an anti-oxident?
searching for "cinnamon beer recipe" on google turned up some possibilities - mostly holiday spiced ales.