IIPA recipe, need help

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Cold Country Brewery

Reaction score
Help me in tweaking my first recipe I've created:

Extract
10 gallon batch

Grains:
1.5lbs Belgian Caramel Pils
.50lb Briess Caramel 40

Fermentables:
9lbs gold malt syrup
9lbs pilsen malt syrup
2lbs corn sugar

Hops:
3oz Warrior @ 60
3oz Simocoe @ 30
2oz Citra @ 10
2oz Citra @ 5
2oz Citra @ 0

Dry hop with something - any ideas?

American Ale yeast Wyeast

Look good? Gross? Am I way off somewhere? Help me tweak this and I'll update after it's done. Thanks all.

Doesn't look too bad. I'm no expert on hop scheduling, but I'd suggest Citra for the dry-hopping, truthfully. Get a big nose of Citra and you'll fall in love. Just a suggestion.

Help me in tweaking my first recipe I've created:

Extract
10 gallon batch

Grains:
.50lb Briess Caramel 40

Fermentables:
9lbs gold malt syrup
9lbs pilsen malt syrup
2lbs corn sugar

Hops:
3oz Warrior @ 60
3oz Simocoe @ 30
2oz Citra @ 10
2oz Citra @ 5
2oz Citra @ 0

Dry hop with something - any ideas?

American Ale yeast Wyeast

Look good? Gross? Am I way off somewhere? Help me tweak this and I'll update after it's done. Thanks all.

Looks good. You could dry hop with simcoe my Avery Maharaja clone calls for 4.5 oz of simcoe for the dry hop

citra has a very powerful tropical fruit flavor to it....like mango or something. I once used 1/2 oz at 15 mins in an IPA and was almost blown away with tropicalness. 4 oz in the 5-10min range would have probably made my head explode. If thats what you are shooting for great. With your recipe, i personally would only dry hop with 1-2oz citra, and sub the other citra additions with amarillo