URGENT-Brew day is Wednesday...Need info!

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BuffaloBrian

Reaction score
I originally posted this in the beginner brew thread however, no one responded. I am brewing on Wednesday and I dont want to screw this up. Here is a cut and past of what I previously posted...
--------------------------

I am very new to brewing. So far I started with a Mr.Beer kit. It was okay, but jumped right into partial extract. So far I completed 3 Partial Extracts. They were okay, but the best one so far was a complete kit, the Brewers Best IPA. So this time I decided I would try their Red Ale. The other 2 "kits" were store manufactured. The Ultimate Porter was and still is fantastic. Gives me heartburn, so I am punished if I imbibe too much.
Anyway, my questions are these...
Brewers Best Red Ale....good? good as is? -OR-
I want to increase the ABV w/o screwing it up. I read in a previous couple threads that to increase the ABV it should be done in the wort with either DME or LME(they didnt have that booster that has been talked about) but you would need to add flavoring hops to decrease the "sweatness". At the store the gentleman suggested another bag of hops because he wasnt sure how much hops were in the Muntons Malt Extract "Hopped Amber". I got the 3.3 lbs Muntons Malt Extract "Hopped Amber" and did not get the add'l hops. He said the ABV would increase from 5% to a possible 8% and the taste shouldnt be a problem.

Any thoughts?

edit: Also, I am set up for kegging if that makes a difference.

Please remember, I'm new, but I have had some success with drinking my own beer. LOL!
Regards,
Buff
-----------------
Again, Thanks