sulfur ferment smell & raisin tasting beer?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bc_brewer

Reaction score
I am new to brewing (this is my first post here as well). Anyway, I brewed an amber about a month ago, and i had that sulfur smell like crazy during fermentation. Subsequently, two things happened. 1- i am no longer allowed to ferment in the closet. 2- My beer tasted like it had prune juice poured into it! Could the latter be caused by stressed yeast or something? Cheers! :rockin:

Tell us what your recipe was, what yeast you used, fermentation temps, and how exactly it tastes like prune juice (specific flavors/tastes would be helpful) and we'll be able to help a lot more. For all I know you could have chucked 8 pounds of old raisins into secondary :)

Unfortunately, this was a batch my neighbor bought the ingredients for and he washed the recipe in his pants :( I know that fermentation happened at around 66 to 68 degrees, we used a smack pack yeast (which we forgot to sanitize before cutting open and pitching), and it was an extract with specialty grain brew. It spent a week in primary and a week in secondary. No raisins in secondary, but it had what i could describe as a "prune juice"-like taste that I could detect even when we put it in primary. That taste has mellowed out a bit in the 3rd week of bottle conditioning, but its still kinda there. Other than that its drinkable with a decent amount of carbonation, a heavy barley taste, and a more floral hop taste. I guess my inquiry was that since we had that sulfur smell during primary, if that kind of "raisin-like" flavor is common at all to a certain element of the fermentation, or if it is a bacterial taste since we did not sanitize the smack pack before pitching. Thanks for the response :)