What Happened?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

slayer84

Reaction score
I recently brewed my first all-grain batch of beer ( Haus Pale Ale) and lets just say that you can def tell that I am a noob. I mashed in a 10 gal rubbermaid cylinder cooler with a 12in SS false bottom for 60 min at 152 and crushed my grain with a Schmidling AA maltmill set at factory settings. Water-to-grain was 1.25 to 1lbs of grain, no mash-out, and fly sparged with 5gal of 170 degree water. My two problems were: I constantly got grain particles in my wort regardless of how many times i vorlaufed, and my beer is incredibly hazy. Its worse then a hefe and its always there regardless of temp. Any info on what I did wrong?

I left it in the primary fermenter for a week, racked to a secondary for another week, and now its bottled.

Everything I've read says to leave your beer in primary at least 2-3 weeks unless you've taken hydro readings and know fermentation is complete. I'm guessing this also gives it time for things to settle out also.

Then again, I've only brewed 1 extract making me a pretty useless reference from a hands one perspective.

Cold break? You used some sort of chill method? Also yeah 3 weeks in the primary is good. No need for secondary honestly.

I had some horribly murky beer on a recent all grain IPA (was out of whirlfloc). Chilled it, used polyclar, still murky. Tried gelatin, and it cleared in about a day or so.

I have the same MLT setup you described. I've never had a problem losing the grain particles after about 4-5 times vorlauf. I'm using the factory setting on a barleycrusher for my grain (forget what it crushes at, .039 or something)

Some guesses: