1554 (new belgium)

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ρ®ïMσ

Reaction score
im still new at this and had another question. im ordering the 1554 clone kit from AHB (has anyone tried this btw?) and had a question about the yeast options it gives for the kit 1white labs southern german lager 2. wyeast danish lager 3.saflager. question #1 if 1554 is a blcak ale then why are kit options w lager yeast? would any dry yeast work? and is there a big difference in the resulting product between the yeasts mentioned above? the reason i ask is bc attenuation for the lager yeast is much lower and i dont keep my house quite that cold..suggestions/recommendations?

From their website
Other than being dark in color, 1554 has little in common with Porters or Stouts. The beer is fermented at relatively high temperatures using a European lager yeast that imparts a refreshing, zesty acidity. Chocolate and coffee tones in the nose give way to a surprisingly clean finish. With 1554 our staff hoped to create a beer similar to what folks enjoyed nearly five-hundred years ago without ignoring five-hundred years of technological innovation.We hope you’ll agree that 1554 is the delicious result of a lot of well-spent library time.

might try and give them an email and see if they would let you know what temp. they ferment at. Not sure how homebrew friendly they are.

Off topic: Picked up a sixer of those tonight. I realize for the price, they are a good beer. I was looking at other real belgian ales, and the price was more than twice for the amount.

cubbies said:
Not to be rude, but if you dont have any way of getting temps down, my suggestion would be to not brew a lager.

1554 says its a black ale NOT a lager..my question was primarily about the yeast.