1st time force carbonating ????

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

icu812

Reaction score
I just transfered a stout into a keg. temp is 35*. I hooked up the gas to the liquid side at about 16psi , I then shook the keg for about 1min and hit it with gas one more time and shook again. NOW my question is do I hook up the gas normally back to the gas side in? at a lower psi and then repeat 1st steps again tomorro?or leave it on the liquid side or just take the gas off completly? this is my first time kegging ,so I THANK ANYONE WITH INFO.

My process is to cool to serving temp, set to 25 psi and shake vigorusly for about a minute then remove from gas and let it settle for 3 - 4 hours. Then i bleed the pressure from the keg and hook gas back up at normal serving pressure. Its been pretty good so far.

I've always done it similar to Chello's method. Hook up the CO2, set it around 20, and shake for a minute with the gas ON. Let it sit for a while, so I can catch my breath, then shake it again, for another minute. As you shake it, you can hear the gas flowing into the keg. I would think that if you just charged it, turned the CO2 off, then shook it up, you wouldn't get much CO2 into the keg, and therefore a low carbonated brew. I guess if you were doing an ale, that might be OK. Then I would probably do it just the way Chello does it. IMO

Later

Going to keg another stout tomorrow. I will follow those methods this time, although the stout that I kegged yesterday seems good ,both taste and carbonation. I would like to hear about some more methods on this. I have 4 more stouts to keg in the next week . So just trying to get some more ideas.

there are 2 ways to force carb. you're all talking about rapid force carbing.