Sanitizing bottles

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bjzelectric

Reaction score
Im an amateur homebrewer (5 batches under my belt) and I am interested in other techniques for cleaning and sanitizing my bottles. I fill my bathtub with water and a scoop of oxyclean and let the bottles fill and soak for 20 mins. Then I rinse and do the same thing with bleach to sanitize. Anyone have any other ideas? Ive heard of Starsan in a spray bottle but it doesnt sound like that would be efficient for the bottles.

A spray bottle works. The most efficient thing I've found is a vinator. Just mix up some of your favorite sanitizer solution, give it a couple pumps and you're done. Other people have success with the sanitizing option on their dishwasher or even using their ovens. But for me, like I said the vinator.

I pre rinse and scrub all my bottles with steaming tap water then I fill up a cooler with starsan solution and let them all soak for a half hour, then dump and fill. I am one of those people who are super paranoid that I wont get all the bleach rinsed out so I just use Starsan since its a no-rinse forumula.

A spray bottle works. The most efficient thing I've found is a vinator. Just mix up some of your favorite sanitizer solution, give it a couple pumps and you're done. Other people have success with the sanitizing option on their dishwasher or even using their ovens. But for me, like I said the vinator.

+10 to the Vinator. To get the most bang for your buck, buy a bottle of Star San, and a vinator. Maybe 1/5th of an oz. will sanitize 50-ish bottles per batch no problem.

Soak in a bucket of hot oxyclean and then I use my cordless drill to spin my bottle brush (just cut off the loop) and rinse them well with hot water.