All Grain System Paths.

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

l3asturd

Reaction score
I actually put this drawing together to make a parts list to buy. But I just added paths to it for your critique. Please feel free to comment on anything! I'm very new to AG.
6603-all-grain-brew-path-version-1.jpg

Why they are two drains at HLT and BK, also there are two incomes for MLT?
I am building similar system but with one drain and one input per vessel.

The autosparge is redundant on a HERMS system. You want a continuous vorlauf, and simply throttle input rate to match output.

Why they are two drains at HLT and BK, also there are two incomes for MLT?
I am building similar system but with one drain and one input per vessel.

What looks like a second drain on the right side of the HLT is actually the whirlpool input to maintain even distribution of heat. The BK also has a whirlpool recirc input. The MLT has an autosparge input and a straight input (for strike). I didn't really want to mess with removing the valve of the autosparge for strike.

I put a bottom drain on the BK only for cleanup. Because I whirlpool I'll still be using the side drain with pickup tube.

The autosparge is redundant on a HERMS system. You want a continuous vorlauf, and simply throttle input rate to match output.

I had no idea. I watched my buddy brew with AutoSparge and it seemed a lot better than trying to match valve flows. Why is it redundant by the way?

I've seen plenty of systems use it with HERMS. Even John mentions it in this video:

Last edited by a moderator:
Because with HERMS

1.you'll be running a thinner mash naturally to account for the excess volume of the hoses, etc. (1.5-1.75 for me)

2. The continuous exchange of fluid is how you regulate temp in the mash tun.