Can I use just a 10 gallon kettle and multiple smaller pots for All-grain brewing?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RonPaul

Reaction score
I am just starting out (never did AG brewing) and looking for an easy way to get going with AG brewing and wondering if I really need the coolers. I'm wondering if I could buy a 10 gallon kettle (with spout and false bottom), and use that for the mash. That way I can use the same kettle for both the mash process and the brewing (boiling process). I would do the mash in the 10 gallon kettle and then drain the wort into two 4 gallon pots I already have in the house. After I get the amount of wort I need, I would then dump the grain, take out the false bottom, and pour the wort back in to do the boil process.

My thinking is that with this approach I would be able to later add more equipment if I needed and in the meantime it would be a little more work. Any thoughts anyone has on this would really be appreciated.

Check out the BIAB sticky. It is a way to brew all-grain with only one pot.

You could also do all-grain with a kettle and 1 cooler.

BIAB doesn't look as appealing to me for some reason. Does my plan seem like it won't work? If so, what will the issue be? Thanks.

That makes sense 1MadScientist... however, it means I need to buy additional equipment (a 10 gallon round cooler tun). I was hoping I could go without the cooler and use the 10 gallon kettle as both the mash tun and the boil kettle. Would that approach work at all, or is it not even worth trying? Thanks again.

No, it will work logistically, but give it a few batches, and that cooler tun is going to look less and less expensive. I think people are just trying to let you know some easy upgrades.