Can I use splenda instead of sugar???

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mikesalvo

Reaction score
Im sure this has been discussed here many times, but as a newb, my search results were very overwhelming....

I am trying out some fruit wine-making...Can I substitute the sugar with splenda???

Not if you want it to ferment, splenda won't be able to be used by the yeast. I have heard of people using it to sweeten after fermentation.

thanks for the welcome!

so, I guess Splenda is out of the question.....

It seems alot of the fruit based wines require ALOT of sugar. What are some wines I could make (and recipes) that are a bit "healthier"?

You won't be consuming any of that sugar, it is fermented by the yeast, that's where the alcohol comes from. More sugar doesn't make it sweeter, it makes more alcohol.

ah yes. I should have known this. thanks so much! total newb here! ha ha.

A dry wine will only have 2 grams per liter of residual sugar and even a sweet dessert wine will be less than an ounce per bottle.

I dont even use splenda to backsweeten...(for heath reasons) but especially since it has been found that it CANT be broken down even in our water supply. Its now found in rivers, lakes....

I dont even use splenda to backsweeten...(for heath reasons) but especially since it has been found that it CANT be broken down even in our water supply. Its now found in rivers, lakes....

Just because something is found doesn't necessarily mean it's doing damage to the environment. There are all kinds of chemicals and metals that get into water sources and either settle out, are absorbed and stored by plants, or remain in low enough concentrations that there's no measurable negative effects.