plastic vs. glass

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mcr122

Reaction score
As you can put together buy looking at my recent posts, I am new to homebrewing and have probably had some success at totally screwing up my first batch of beer. I was given a "True Brew" kit by a friend who gave up after his initial disaster. I am willing to spend some money on this so I am wondering if I should invest in a glass carboy before going any further. First off, I would like to be able to see what is going on inside my fermenter instead of having the constant compulsion to peak in, thereby risking bacterial infection. What are the advantages and disadvantages of glass vs plastic? :eek:

If you're just talking about the primary fermentation stage I don't think there's any appreciable difference. Plastic is cheaper, glass can break and cause serious injury. Personally I use plastic buckets for primary and better bottles for secondary. I don't like the glass carboys because they're far too fragile and heavy.

There is a wiki article comparing glass carboys vs better bottles you might want to review. In the end if you want to view fermentation that makes the decision against buckets for you. Then you just have to decide if you want better bottles or glass carboys. As far as the beer is concerned there is no difference between the two so you just need to decide which you would prefer.

if you do primary in a carboy (glass or plastic) you want at least 6, if not a 6.5-7gallon carboy.

otherwise you'll need a blow off tube, and you'll loose a quart or two during high krausen.

or stick to $15 buckets that are already 6.5-7 gallons.

I personally only use glass carboys, but I have no experience with better bottles